Consolidated EMS between Davis, Dakota, and Rock City Fire Districts

About Tri-District

Tri-District History

On September 1977 Dakota, Davis, and Rock City lost ambulance service after the Dakota funeral director discontinued ambulance service to the area.

On October 29, 1977, voters in Dakota, Davis, and Rock City approved a referendum to form an ambulance service between the three fire districts to provide service for the 150 square mile area in Northeastern Stephenson County.

After months of planning, meetings, and training, Tri-District Ambulance Association was put into service on August 11, 1978 with a volunteer staff.

On May 2008, the agency began contracting with an outside service, Star Ambulance of Freeport, to provide full-time coverage. This was done because there were not enough volunteers to continue operating the service without an outside agency.

Voters approved a referendum on the November 4, 2008, for a property tax increase for Tri-District Ambulance, so it would have enough funds to provide full time ambulance service.

Service Area

Tri District Ambulance is located in Stephenson County, Illinois and serves several townships and the communities of Dakota, Davis, Rock City, and Lake Summerset.

Our Mission

Our goal is to provide the best quality EMS services and patient care in a fiscally responsible manner as an integral component of the three fire districts.

Skip to content